What makes me want to be a software developer? - My Dev Journey!

What makes me want to be a software developer? - My Dev Journey!

ยท

3 min read

Who am I? ๐Ÿ™‹๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Hey, I'm Ragul, doing my final year CSE undergrad degree. So basically I was a Biology student who cleared NEET (Indian medical entrance exam) but unfortunately didn't get into the right college to join as a doctor so in some conscious state, I have chosen the computer science domain as my profession as a 17-year-old boy this is how I got into CSE field and software development.

Innovation + creation ๐Ÿš€

Why would I do that ?... The feeling of when you create something on your own is which is useful for other people and add value to you as a software engineer in the field of computer science is the main reason I have chosen to be a developer.

Open source ๐Ÿ”ฅ

Open source and better community Basically when I am studying programming languages for any other software development I always throughout the entire journey so I often see people help each other in the Tech community to grow together and make things better and also open source projects allow software developers to contribute to their projects (adding features, debugging, etc)

It also helps companies to identify you and measure how valuable resource you are by your work on the project. This is the main advantage of open-source projects and as a software developer, it helps to know and get updated about the current text used in the industries.

Failed Interviews ๐Ÿ’ป

So speaking about interviews I have failed quite a few I was attending placements from my college (on campus) I lost in some of the initial companies came which had a really good package in my college and these companies taught me an interesting lesson in my developer journey and that is, With all the projects you've made on your own is tested by your programming skill in first few rounds. No company is going to have a one-on-one direct interview call as the first round of your drive unless you're experienced.

So focusing on fundamental programming skills and some competitive programming level knowledge is important when you attend interviews reading cracking the coding interview book may help. Knowledge of data structures and algorithms also plays a vital role in interviews and development. You don't have to be a 5 Star competitive programmer but you should be knowing the basics of programming and the ability to write pseudocode for the given problem.

My Learnings and advice for upcoming devs ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ‘€

I would strongly suggest reading documentation instead of watching tutorial videos when you learning something new, Try to implement what you have just learned it may be a Hello world in a new programming language, and also another learning of mine is don't get stuck in tutorial videos learn by doing when you going to learn something new it may be programming language our personal projects don't take a course and follow it blindly try it on your own..play with things it's to fail at beginnings. And this is also my main advice for the upcoming developers for going to make this world even better all the best folks and I would also like to thank hashnode and Eleftheria Batsou to boost my blogging skills through #4articles4weeks.

#4articles4weeks #4weeks4articles #week1

ย